Help support alternative media by visiting our advertisers

Stand Down for Homeless Veterans 2017

Stand Downs are typically one- to three-day events providing supplies and services to homeless Veterans.

Stand Down for Homeless Veterans 2017

Stand Down for Homeless Veterans 2017

The National Coalition for Homeless Veterans (NCHV)

The original Stand Down for homeless veterans was modeled after the Stand Down concept used during the Vietnam War to provide a safe retreat for units returning from combat operations. At secure base camp areas, troops were able to take care of personal hygiene, get clean uniforms, enjoy warm meals, receive medical and dental care, mail and receive letters, and enjoy the camaraderie of friends in a safe environment. Stand Down afforded battle-weary soldiers the opportunity to renew their spirit, health and overall sense of well-being.

That is the purpose of the Stand Down for homeless veterans, and achieving those objectives requires a wide range of support services and time. The program is successful because it brings these services to one location, making them more accessible to homeless veterans.

In July 2002, the founders of Stand Down – Robert Van Keuren, Dr. Jon Nachison and Vietnam Veterans of San Diego – asked the National Coalition for Homeless Veterans (NCHV) to become the “keeper of the flame” and provide national leadership for the movement. Since the first Stand Down in San Diego in 1988, the program has become recognized as the most valuable outreach tool to help homeless veterans in the nation today.

Upcoming Events – Stand Downs – Click Here

Stand Downs are typically one- to three-day events providing supplies and services to homeless Veterans, such as food, shelter, clothing, health screenings and VA Social Security benefits counseling. Veterans can also receive referrals to other assistance such as health care, housing solutions, employment, substance use treatment and mental health counseling.

They are collaborative events, coordinated between local VA Medical Centers, other government agencies and community-based homeless service providers.

Below are some of the upcoming Stand Downs for the American Redoubt and vicinity. There are more events around the United Stated listed here. New events are added regularly, so check back often for updates.

To participate in an upcoming Stand Down, please contact the VA primary POC listed below.

 

Dates Location VA Primary POC Alternate POC Event ID
April 22, 2017 Nampa, ID John Poarch
(208) 695-5124
John.Poarch@va.gov
Anna Johnson-Whitehead
(208) 422-1000, x7806
Anna.Johnson-Whitehead@va.gov
2017-033
April 27, 2017 Casper, WY Elizabeth Martini
(307) 675-3869
Elizabeth.Martini@va.gov
Curtis Merriam
(307) 675-3879
Curtis.Merriam@va.gov
2017-037
April 29, 2017 Bremerton, WA Tony Sparber
(253) 348-1475
Anthony.Sparber@va.gov
Andrew Sargent
(360) 337-4811
asargent@co.kitsap.wa.us
2017-040
May 4, 2017 Forks, WA Olivia Reiber
(206) 664-1015
Olivia.Reiber@va.gov
John Braasch
(360) 301-9987
voicesforveterans@yahoo.com
2017-041
May 13, 2017 Coeur d’Alene, ID Zachary Badger
(509) 462-2500, x4029
Zachary.Badger@va.gov
Eric Swanbeck
(208) 664-3095
eric@stvincentdepaulcda.org
2017-044
May 13, 2017 Tacoma, WA Christine Baird
(253) 583-2826
Christine.Baird@va.gov
Shawn Durnen
(253) 576-2146
8miledurnen@gmail.com
2017-045
May 20, 2017 Helena, MT Shad Barrows
(406) 373-3919
Shad.Barrows@va.gov
Brandy Keely
(406) 447-4550
bkeely@carroll.edu
2017-049
May 20, 2017 Polson, MT Shad Barrows
(406) 373-3919
Shad.Barrows@va.gov
Shelley LeProwse
(406) 883-2821
post2986@gmail.com
2017-051
June 10, 2017 Kalispell, MT Shad Barrows
(406) 373-3919
Shad.Barrows@va.gov
Allen Erickson
(406) 756-7304
allen@veteransfoodpantry.org
2017-060
June 16 – 17, 2017 Klamath Falls, OR Brooklyn Gartman
(541) 826-2111, x3990
Brooklyn.Gartman@va.gov
Tammi DeForrest
(541) 331-9975
tdeforrest@veteransenrichmentcenter.org
2017-063
June 28, 2017 Bend, OR Tasha Sloan
(360) 696-4061, x34399
Tasha.Sloan1@va.gov
Tory Flory
(541) 383-2793
tory.flory@covo-us.org
2017-066
July 31, 2017 Port Townsend, WA Olivia Reiber
(206) 664-1015
Olivia.Reiber@va.gov
John Braasch
(360) 301-9987
voicesforveterans@yahoo.com
2017-070
August 11, 2017 Wenatchee, WA Zachary Badger
(509) 462-2500, x4029
Zachary.Badger@va.gov
Mark Harle
(509) 885-5559
NcwVetsServingVets@gmail.com
2017-072
August 18, 2017 North Bend, OR Berta Balli
(541) 613-5802
Berta.Balli@va.gov
Jonathan Harkness
(541) 613-5802
Jonathan.Harkness@va.gov
2017-074
September 11, 2017 Portland, OR Tasha Sloan
(360) 696-4061, x34399
Tasha.Sloan1@va.gov
Alex Glover
(503) 280-4673
alex.glover@tprojects.org
2017-086
September 16, 2017 Moses Lake, WA Zachary Badger
(509) 462-2500, x4029
Zachary.Badger@va.gov
Eileen Boylston
(509) 766-4111
eboylston@esd.wa.gov
2017-093
September 20, 2017 Billings, MT Shad Barrows
(406) 373-3919
Shad.Barrows@va.gov
Bill Holder
(406) 259-5368
bholder@voanr.org
2017-097
September 28 – 29, 2017 Great Falls, MT Shad Barrows
(406) 373-3919
Shad.Barrows@va.gov
Wally McManigle
(406) 868-9337
lonewolf@3rivers.net
2017-107
September 30, 2017 Bremerton, WA Tony Sparber
(253) 348-1475
Anthony.Sparber@va.gov
Andrew Sargent
(360) 337-4811
asargent@co.kitsap.wa.us
2017-112
September 30 – October 1, 2017 Libby, MT Zachary Badger
(509) 462-2500, x4029
Zachary.Badger@va.gov
Allen Erickson
(406) 756-7304
allen@veteransfoodpantry.org
2017-121
September 30, 2017 Vancouver, WA Tasha Sloan
(971) 200-0351
Tasha.Sloan1@va.gov
Nick Herber
(360) 693-7030
Standdown@ccvac.net
2017-113
October 5, 2017 Port Angeles, WA Olivia Reiber
(206) 664-1015
Olivia.Reiber@va.gov
John Braasch
(360) 301-9987
voicesforveterans@yahoo.com
2017-116
October 6, 2017 Havre, MT Shad Barrows
(406) 373-3919
Shad.Barrows@va.gov
Scott Prindiville
(406) 265-4641
hilinevetsd@gmail.com
2017-118
October 13, 2017 Eugene, OR Mitch Trotter
(541) 242-0475
Mitchell.Trotter@va.gov
Floyd Bard
(541) 688-4172
floydbard@live.com
2017-123
October 21, 2017 Troutdale, OR Tasha Sloan
(360) 696-4061, x34399
Tasha.Sloan1@va.gov
Pete Pringle
(503) 669-7112, x264
Peter.J.PRINGLE@oregon.gov
2017-131
October 26, 2017 Cheyenne, WY Tatum Webb
(307) 778-7352
Tatum.Webb@va.gov
Robert Balich
(307) 778-7550, x3026
Robert.Balich@va.gov
2017-134
November 11, 2017 Olympia, WA Erin Horner
(253) 583-2825
Erin.Horner@va.gov
John Moysiuk
(360) 704-3614
jmoysiuk@esd.wa.gov
2017-161

1 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Why Gary Sinise Fights So Tirelessly for Veterans | Oath Keepers Nebraska

Comments are closed.